Utah PGA Section Election Results

Author: Scott Whittaker

  The emotions of the country are running high in anticipation of the upcoming Presidential Elections. However one of the most critical elections for Utah Section Members has already taken place. There is no more important part of planning for our Section’s future than electing good officers.

Utah Section Members have elected a new Secretary. Congratulations to Ryan Kartchner the Head Golf Professional at Hidden Valley CC, located in Sandy, Utah he is our new Secretary. The Utah Section Membership also elected a new Board Member to replace outgoing Director Mark Owen. His replacement will be Tracey Zobell, he is Head Golf Professional at Gladstan GC in Payson, Utah. Mark Owen must have enjoyed his time as a three-year Director because he decided to extend his board service by winning a new position on the Board as Player Director. As the reigning Utah Section Champion Mark sits on the Utah Section Board for a one year term.

On November 12, 2012 Utah Section Vice President Colby Cowan will assume the office of Utah Section President. Secretary Chris Stover will move to the Vice President’s Office and President Jared Barnes will take over as Honorary President. Although they will not be formally sworn in until our 27th Utah Section Annual Meeting in February there are several critical administrative functions that begin right away. That is why Utah’s term of officers coincides with that of the PGA of America.

Outgoing President Jared Barnes, outgoing Member Director Mark Owen, and Player Director Dustin Volk have made significant contributions to the Section through many activities and programs. Each will be honored at our meetings in February

The election of Utah Section Secretary Ryan Kartchner who will become the President of the Utah Section PGA in four years, may not have the same national impact as electing the US President but it certainly has a great impact on our local golf industry. The Utah Section PGA has a reputation for electing great leaders as our officers. We wish all of our leaders the best in their future positions.

Tags: No tags

Comments are closed.